x

Student Organizations

FRIENDLY GROUPS. AMAZING ACCOMPLISHMENTS.

Student organizations bring students together to explore, refine and share extracurricular passions and interests.  

For information about starting new organizations contact Kayla Redd at council@tkc.edu. For more information regarding individual groups use the contact information listed below.

Student Leadership

The King’s College academic program is crafted to prepare students for leadership in strategic national institutions — government, commerce, law, the media, civil society, education, the arts and the church. It is classical in approach, meaning that we want students to understand the great ideas that have shaped human history. 

Toward that end, we introduce students to ideas that are true for all times and all people , while striving to develop the wisdom and skill to apply our knowledge in everyday situations. In this way, students begin to understand universal principles and develop the prudence to apply these ideas congruently and consistently to specific situations. In short, we are developing potential statesmen.

Every student at The King’s College takes a set of courses grounded in politics, philosophy, and economics – those areas of study that have the most influence in shaping society. 

Knowledge is not learned in a vacuum, though, so Student Development serves the vision of the College in three main ways. First, we create opportunities for students to test their knowledge by providing them opportunities to lead. Second, we provide skills training that coincides with the leadership challenges faced by student leaders. Third, we encourage the transference of this knowledge to the student body. 

This experiential learning strategy – primarily implemented through The King’s Council and the House System, allows for the integration of theory and practice to equip students to shape the College today and society tomorrow.

The King's Council

The King's Council exists as a Council of Houses to shape a value-centered culture and enable a student-driven community.

Empire State Tribune

The Empire State Tribune is the official student-run newspaper of The King’s College. Whether covering city events or interviewing a student or faculty member, the Tribune strives to bring interesting stories and features to The King’s College community. Contact Carly Hoilman at carly.hoilman@tkc.edu.

The King's College Republicans

Through its dedication to the conservative values of the GOP, TKCR seeks to engage students in Republican politics through involvement in local campaigns and events such the Conservative Political Action Conference. Contact Serenity Richardson at collegerepublicans@tkc.edu

The King’s Debate Society

The King’s Debate Society exists to train students to effectively advocate truth in the marketplace of ideas. KDS hosts intercollegiate debate competitions at The King’s College and competes in national and international tournaments. Contact Tim Perdew at timothy.perdew@tkc.edu.

Mock Trial

The King's College Mock Trial exists to cultivate a love of law, oratory and acting, and train students to advocate for Christ on the world’s biggest stages. Roles range from attorneys to witnesses. All who are interested in oratory rhetoric or acting are welcome. Contact Grant Olson at grant.olson@tkc.edu.

The King’s Players

The King’s Players seek to challenge and delight audiences by supporting and producing new and classic plays and musicals. The King’s Players create a safe haven for students to be innovative and receive training from professionals in all aspects of theater. Contact Dorea Slagle at dorea.slagle@tkc.edu.

The King's Dancers

The King's Dancers is a community of passionate artists who practice and appreciate the art of dance. We pursue creative growth, artistic development, and unity through dance classes and rehearsals at NYC dance studios and performances for the King’s community. Contact Cara Byrns at cara.byrns@tkc.edu.  

The Kings of Swing

The Kings of Swing is dedicated to the art of swing dancing, great music, and a good time. We provide free classes for all interested in learning this easy and exhilarating dance. No experience necessary. Join the Kings of Swing every week for dancing. Contact Adriana Hanson at adriana.hanson@tkc.edu.

The Troubadour

The Troubadour seeks to stimulate and support the artistic creativity of students, faculty and alumni of The King College by publishing anything that fits on a page, from poetry to photography. Contact Nathan Deardorff at nathan.deardorff@tkc.edu.

REFUGE

REFUGE exists to facilitate campus-wide worship gatherings for the King’s community and to encourage King’s students, staff and faculty to seek Christ. REFUGE takes place every other Thursday in the City Room. Contact Eric Velez at eric.velez@tkc.edu.

International Students Club

The International Students Club welcomes students from other countries and promotes cultural awareness in the student body. The club helps members work through homesickness, cultural shock, and challenges that come with living in another country. Contact Costanza Rota at costanza.rota@tkc.edu.

City Engagement

City Engagement exists to train and assist students to apply their education and Christian beliefs through practical outreach and service in New York City. City Engagement is an attitude, a lifestyle, a mission. Contact Lucy LeFever at lucy.lefever@tkc.edu.

Martial Arts Club

The Martial Arts Club exists to study self-defense techniques and to inculcate an understanding of eastern cultures and philosophies. Contact Bryce Lewis at bryce.lewis@tkc.edu

King's Image Films

King's Image Films is a Christ-centered community of student filmmakers dedicated to creating films of artistic and narrative excellence that glorify God. Contact Joseph Holmes at joseph.holmes@tkc.edu.

Financial Services Club

The King's College Financial Services Club teaches students principles of finance and investment through investment simulations, case studies, member-given lectures, and guest speakers. Contact Matt Sanchez at matthew.sanchez@tkc.edu

Programming and Computer Science Club

The TKC Programming Club exists to improve digital literacy regarding topics ranging from fundamental web design and HTML to C. Contact Jordan Frankfurt at jordan.frankfurt@tkc.edu

TKC Film Society

The King's College Film Society seeks to empower our community to watch, love and critique film and creative media. We honor classic and independent film through screenings from cinema past and present. Contact Jeremy Hinen at jeremy.hinen@tkc.edu.

back to student life